top of page
Search
  • Kellie M

My Top 5 Favorite Self-Love Resources

Updated: Feb 1

My real journey with self-love began right before I turned 20 years old. I was going through my first breakup, losing friends, and overall struggling. I knew I had to make things move forward again and wouldn't feel better without self-love.


"So, where am I supposed to begin with this whole loving myself?"


That was the prominent thought in my mind because I didn't know where to start. It's not like you wake up one morning and you're like, "Hey, what a great day! I love myself, and now I won't struggle with it anymore!". That would be great if you could do it that easily. I did what any other person would do when they needed an answer. I Googled it, duh.


I started looking up what self-love is, what self-care is, and whether there even is a difference. Then I looked up how to implement them practically and not in a crash diet sort of way. Since the beginning, I have narrowed down things I have found to be helpful in my journey. While some resources are relatively new, I have fallen in love with them because their message and compassion are powerful and encouraging.



Here are my top 5 favorite self-love resources:


I found Kalyn Nicholson on YouTube when I was in high school. The thing that drew me to her was her personality because she was entertaining, but we also shared similar struggles. She struggles with anxiety, and I do, too. In high school, I didn't know that's what I was experiencing, so it was great to watch someone I could relate to and give name to the suffocating feeling I had.


She did a series called Coffee Talks on her channel, which later translated into a podcast. She covers everything from coping with your mental health, stepping into yourself, and letting go of all the self-doubt and judgment that comes along with it. Kalyn gives valuable steps, tips, and tricks, so it's best to have a notebook nearby if you want to write something down that she mentions.


Raw Beauty Talks is a new podcast, which came from their blog and is hosted by Erin Treloar, the founder. I was over the moon when I heard they were starting a podcast.


So far, there are four podcasts out when I'm writing this. My favorites have been with Kaitlyn Bristowe and Sarah Nicole. They both are real and unapologetically themselves. It's a great podcast to reflect on your life and feelings, especially if you relate to the guests' stories. Listen to their stories and what they did to get through it, or shift their mindset and see if you might do the same.


This podcast was created by Carrie Rad, a YouTuber with a passion for self-love, self-care, adventure, and empowering others. Her podcast is more on the advice side of love, heartbreak, careers, friendships, and so much more.


Carrie has a way of giving advice that you need to hear but may not want to hear most compassionately. And that's why I love her so much. There are things I know I may not want to hear but need to, but it has to be done in a caring way.


I found this blog through Raw Beauty Talks, and it's more for teachers. The creators offer a program that allows people to teach about body positivity to children from fifth through eighth grade.


I'm not a teacher, but I get their newsletters, read their blog, and have looked a little at the program. Why? Because it's helpful and inspiring research they put together. It can help fifth through eighth graders and serve as a reminder to me, a twenty-one-year-old woman.


I'm also very in love with the idea that programs like these are being created and starting the conversation early.


This series is also by Carrie Rad, and it's basically where her podcast stemmed from. Almost every Sunday, she uploads a Self-Love Sunday video onto her channel. She talks about things from a quick yoga routine, habits you can integrate into your routines, and more nitty-gritty topics, like dealing with your inner negative self-talk.


These are great to watch on a Sunday because I try to take the day to myself before the chaos of another week ensues. It's a way to ground yourself back into the presence of what matters and check in with yourself.

 

The thing I love about these five, in particular, is they don't make it seem like once you love yourself, it's all butterflies and rainbows. They still talk about their struggles and that it's okay not to be okay. You don't have to change yourself. It's about improving aspects of your life and embracing yourself in all that you are. You are you, and there's no greater power than that.


What are some of your favorite self-love resources?

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page